Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Lava Cakes

20140204_152938

Okay so today has been SUCH a productive day so far! It started at 5 am this morning with my early morning meal prep.  I got up and prepped a bunch of gluten free, lowfat elk meatballs on a big bed of spaghetti squash with mushroom marinara and grilled onions, ate my usual egg white breakfast and was out the door before 7:30.  I hit the gym for an awesome heavy shoulder lifting session followed by some pyramid hiit cardio on the stairmaster and spin bike, stopped by my coach Michelle’s house to give her her birthday gift, made it to class early in Portland, played around with my Tetrahymena protists in lab and concluded my hypothesis on temperature dependence and it’s relation to vacuole formation. I came home and felt like whipping up something new, fun and innovative and ended up with this: Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Lava Cakes!  I was actually working on a different recipe that I’ve been thinking about for awhile but since the texture didn’t come out how I wanted, my creativity and passion for low carb, gluten-free contest prep food was channeled in a new direction.

It may seem like I’ve been coming up with a lot of different methods for pancakes but the truth is that I LOVE pancakes.  Since my carbs are low right now, my challenge is now in finding lower carb options to play around with.  I don’t mind one bit because it’s a great challenge and ALOT of fun!  I don’t like compromising on taste however, so if it doesn’t taste GREAT I won’t share.  I can guarantee that these ones pass the test!  I actually only took one bite of them then passed them to my boyfriend to polish off the rest, but I assure you that I will be strategically adding these into my plan where my macros allow! Unfortunately they do contain (although a VERY small amount) a little bit of gluten free oat flour (only 9 grams carbs however) and my starchy carbs were over for the day (I had them in my last two meals post-workout).  Although a small amount, I am on contest prep so if my carbs are done for the day, albeit 9 grams worth, I’m willing to practice discipline and WAIT!

CHOCOLATE PEANUT BUTTER PROTEIN LAVA CAKES RECIPE

Macros: 137 Calories/Serving,

(9C/3F/18P) 5 grams Fiber;  9 NET Carbs

[Serves: 2]

Note: Pictures featured here are shown with TWO servings.  Makes 6-7 4″ mini pancakes.

Ingredients: (Cakes)

  • 20 grams oat flour (~1/4 cup) If you don’t have oat flour just use gluten free oats and grind to a flour-like consistency in your blender.  I almost always use this method and then I just store the excess in a large freezer Ziploc bag
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened cacao powder
  • 66 grams egg whites (~2 egg whites)
  • 1 scoop vanilla or chocolate whey protein powder
  • 1/4 cup vanilla unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 20 drops liquid stevia

Directions:

Add all dry ingredients into a mixing bowl or large glass measuring cup and stir.  Add eggs and unsweetened vanilla almond milk and carefully blend together with a fork.  Beat the mixture until the consistency is smooth, then pour the batter into a heated skillet or griddle on medium heat.  When edges begin to turn up, flip the cakes.  You should immediately see the cake puff and rise when you flip it over.  If not, you may have forgotten the baking soda and baking powder.  These are necessary to get the “fluffiness” in there and without it your pancakes will be flat and worthless!  Continue cooking the cakes in this fashion (approximately 1 minute per side) and stack on a plate.  You can also make the peanut butter protein “frosting” if you desire.  It’s simple yet gives the pancakes so much more oomph!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Cake “Frosting”

Macros: 62 calories

(2C/3F/6P) 2 grams Fiber, 2 NET Carbs

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp. nonfat greek yogurt
  • 2 tsp. natural crunchy or creamy organic peanut butter
  • liquid stevia
  • 1 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 7 grams (1/4 scoop) vanilla or chocolate protein powder
  • 2 tbsp. water

Mix 2 tbsp. greek yogurt with 2 tsp. peanut butter in a small serving bowl.  Add 1 tbsp cocoa powder (unsweetened) and 7 grams protein powder.  Carefully mix together.  Add liquid stevia drops one at a time until desire sweetness is reached (I used about 15 I believe).  Add water a tsp. at a time until the desired consistency is achieved.  Less water added will give you more of a spreadable frosting texture whereas more water will give you more of an icing consistency which can be drizzled over the cakes like shown!

To make the toffee cream on top I simply used toffee flavored stevia mixed with 2 additional tbsp. of greek yogurt.  If you don’t have access to toffee stevia, regular stevia with a couple drops of vanilla extract is scrumptious as well! You might also like to shave a small amount of dark chocolate using a potato peeler or small sharp knife to create a pretty garnish.  The cakes featured in the photos contain a half ounce of shaved and melted 70% dark cacao drizzled on top.  For more chocolatey goodness without breaking the macro bank, chop a 1/2 ounce of dark cacao and add to the batter to make double chocolate chip protein pancakes as well!  Whatever your macros and fitness goals allow!  Remember that this will add some sugar and a little more fat to the recipe so take that into consideration.  Happy EATING and if you like this recipe don’t forget to like, follow and SHARE with your friends!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Lava Cakes

Leave a Reply

